Lincoln’s 1st Birthday

Wow…It has been one year already. I wish I could take mental photographs and videos, so that I never forget all these precious moments that fly by each day. It is really hard to comprehend that Lincoln was born only one year ago. In one moment I feel as though I have known him my whole entire life, yet at the same time it feels like I just held him in my arms for the first time. Motherhood is so incredibly beautiful and in the same breath, absolutely exhausting.It is always changing, yet can feel stagnant. Out of all the jobs in this world,  Motherhood test and molds your character like no other. You will find out that you’re a little selfish, and then realize how selfLESS you are in the same day. You will see that you don’t need as much sleep as you thought, and privacy is a thing of the past. You will take showers quickly, and shave your legs rarely(Okay, that one might just be me). You find out how strong you are, while becoming vulnerable. In your weakness you find strength, and through motherhood you reap one of life’s most incredible treasures that no money could ever measure up to.

One of the most marvelous things about becoming a mother is you can’t really prepare for it. It just sorta happens. It is similar to riding a bike. You can read everything you want to about how to ride a bike, but until you actually start peddling you will never know how to ride it. I am learning new tricks everyday, and it starts to get easier as you gain more confidence, but the track can get more challenging at the same time. I am so thankful that I have been given the opportunity to become a mother, and I want to always remind myself of the blessing that it is, even on the hard days.

Okay…rant over, and back to the star of the show, Master Lincoln Zachary Boutch.

Cool facts

  • He can say 30 words, but is selective of when he says them.
  • He LOVES to be outside! Rain or Shine, Night or Day!
  • He is a water baby and will literally jump off the diving board, No fear.
  • He is still breastfeeding. One year going strong!
  • He is 25 pounds and 30 inches long. He is in the 50 percentile for both!
  • He claps, sings, dances, runs, and almost swims!
  • He has 7 teeth!
  • His Favorite Foods are guacamole and chicken.
  • His favorite toys are sticks, rocks, swords, bats, and balls.

I am so incredibly blessed by this baby boy. I wanted to make his 1st Birthday something fun so I decided a trip to the zoo would be special. He had a great time, but probably would’ve enjoyed a splash pad, or sprinkler in the yard just as much. 1st Birthdays are more for the mama than the baby anyway! LOL! I come from a split family and sometimes special events can be challenging. We were able to have a great time with both families, and Lincoln had double the fun! I count him extremely blessed, he has extra grandparents, and that means even more love! It was a really special day, filled with so much love, and beautiful memories! He won’t remember, but mama will.

Happy Birthday, Lincoln…

 

Love,

Mom.

Leave a comment