The Fitness Front

Remember that photo I posted to Facebook last week…The one with me fake running, while pushing Lincoln in his stroller, and my sisters dog on a leash? The one with me in a sports bra, and booty shorts (because who really runs like that anyway)? Well, It was all to get your attention so that you would come and read my suggestions about fitness. I see that It worked, eh? Okay lets get down to business…

Processed with VSCO with b1 preset
We all start somewhere

I have a honesty policy on my blog…It is somewhat of a online diary, but with topics intended to entertain. I recently received a few requests to write about what I do for nutrition and fitness. I will give you the low down, below- and a little extra.

So here is my super duper not very secret, secret…I breastfeed, and genetics. After I gave birth to Lincoln I was curious to see how my body would respond. I was able to breastfeed, and within five days I was back into the same JEANS I wore before I got pregnant. Five days you guys…I did not diet, I did not workout, and I did not wear any type of stomach girdle. This was simply from genetics, and perhaps breastfeeding too.  I don’t say this to brag or “mom shame” anyone- I say this simply to show you the fact that it was nothing that I did.

Fast forward 11 months later, I am now about 30 pounds lighter than BEFORE I got pregnant, and I am having to eat 3,000 or more calories a day in order to maintain my weight. I want you to know these things so that when I tell you what I do for nutrition and fitness, you don’t copy me. What works for me might not work for you!

For my nutrition, I stick to the rule 80/20%…That means that 80% of what I eat is healthy, and 20% are indulgences. Along with that general rule, I eat 8-10 smaller meals throughout the day, and I always have a little bit of chocolate, or something sweet to get those late night cravings under control.

For fitness, I never stop moving. I am a mother to a very active 11 month old, and I am literally always on the go. I go on walks daily, and when I get the chance to workout in the gym (which is only about 2-3x week), I typically will find a random workout from the internet, and do what I can.  That is the extent of my fitness routine!

I believe it is excellent to practice healthy nutrition, and fitness. I encourage it, and I know that it is good for the mind, and the physical body. However, I believe that something else is far more important and it desperately needs to be practiced daily…our relationship with Jesus. If we focused on HIM, even half the time that we focused on ourselves, (what we are…what we are not…what we want to be) then we would have so much more fulfillment in every area of our life.

I was GULITY.

Guilty of comparison.

Guilty of self obsession.

Guilty of putting myself before the King of Kings!

And Guilty of so much more, but Jesus has paid the price, and delivered me from a life of guilt and emptiness. He gave me Grace to walk in victory and freedom from the cares of this world. Whenever those thoughts sweep through my mind, I take them captive and exalt the Word of God over whatever issue is coming my way. There will be things to come against you, even yourself sometimes…but stand firm in the truth of the Word of God, and press on.

Lets take the time to be healthy…Mind, Body, and most importantly Spirit.

Most sincerely,

XXOO

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Morgan says:

    Thanks for sharing💕

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome welcome sweet girl! Thankyou for your support and suggestions! ❤️

      Like

  2. Jody says:

    This was great, honest, and so sweetly unpretentious. I enjoy your writing. As for the good genes, yes ma’am, you have inherited great genes! The things that don’t come from genes, but from hard work, is amazing for a young woman: happy marriage, beautiful baby, and sharing your love for God. I look forward to your next read.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thankyou so much!! I am so thankful for your comments and support. You are always encouraging, and sweet With your words! It means so much to me. Xoxo 😘

      Like

Leave a Reply

