Stand Still

 

“I appreciate when a moment stands still. I feel like it is God revealing something to you that is very important. You can choose to remember it, or forget it. Let us choose to remember the small moments that knit our life together. Let us find value in the simple things.”

14492613_238457189890528_6113797417712757667_n

Hey everyone! I know, I know…it has been a while. I have been busy moving across the country and settling down in Alabama. We have been looking for a house to buy, hopefully a fixer upper (that’ll make a fun post)! Meanwhile we are staying with my parents, in their guest cottage while enjoying the perks of family, and a strong little army of babysitters!

FUN FACT: When you use the concept of Never, Sometimes that’s exactly where you end up.

I was so determined to “never” move back to the small town I grew up in, but like I said, “never” is peculiar. So here I am, and to be totally honest, I couldn’t picture it any differently. Have you ever noticed that when you become familiar with something, you forget how beautiful it really is? That is exactly how I feel about being back home. The many fields of cotton with pink skies at dusk, really does something in my soul. The sound of the waves washing over the sandy beaches fill my heart with joy. These are just a few of the things I never appreciated until now. Perhaps, you just notice things differently as you mature.

Speaking of appreciation, today I was showering with Lincoln. He usually likes to play on the shower floor, but this time he would cry every time I put him down. I gently scooped up his little, naked squishy body into my arms, as he wrapped himself around me while resting his little blonde head on my chest and gazed into my eyes. That is when I realized that all he wanted was to be close to me. I sat with him on the shower bench, and held him close. He was so content and peaceful. It reminded me that each of us started out with a natural instinct to want to feel loved, and secure. As we get older some of us harden our hearts and minds to this very apparent desire, but it will always remain. It is part of who we are as human beings, it is how we were created.

I appreciate when a moment stands still. I feel like it is God revealing something to you that is very important. You can choose to remember it, or forget it. Let us choose to remember the small moments that knit our life together. Let us find value in the simple things.

Love,

Signe

 

xxoo

Leave a Reply

