Natural Beauty : My story and Routine

” A flower does not think about competing with the flower next to it, it just blooms.”

IMG_3458

*Scroll down to skip my story and get straight to my routine, products, and tips!

I have been wanting to write a blog on beauty for the longest time. I have had so many experiences with different skin issues, and tried everything from expensive dermatologist visits to drug store products, and everything in-between. When I was a teenager I always had beautiful skin. I would occasionally get a blemish but they were few and far between. My first year of college is when that began to change. I started getting really bad acne. I had never had to deal with acne before, and I began to panic because “just washing my face” wasn’t helping me at all. I started going to the dermatologist, and they put me on a very expensive skin care routine. It was costing around $300 a month for all the products I was using. On top of that I started getting chemical peels every month to help with all the acne scarring which was another $150 each peel! I was throwing away all this money in hopes to get my skin and confidence back. The dermatologist decided it would be best for me to get on accutane, however I was too skeptical of the drug. After about 6 months of trying dermatologist grade products with no results I decided I would look for something different. I started using a few products I bought at Sephora. It didn’t go well, I ended up having a terrible chemical burn that took my skin almost two months to heal from. The acne was only getting worse, along with my self-esteem. I was so insecure that I wouldn’t go anywhere without makeup. I would literally wake up two hours earlier than I had to, just so I could begin my million step makeup process. Some nights I would even sleep in my makeup because I hated the way my skin looked without it. It was so traumatic for me emotionally that I let it keep me from being social, and enjoying some of life greatest moments.

After trying just about everything, I decided to see an esthetician. She began giving me facials and teaching me about my skin. She suggested that I stop wearing face makeup and let my skin heal with natural products. GASP! I couldn’t even imagine letting anyone see me without makeup. The thought of it made me sick to my stomach. I figured it was my last shot at clear skin so I would try it. I decided that the only time I would wear makeup is when I had a special event, or meeting. She also told me to stop picking at my acne (which was so hard for me to do because I wanted it off my face). It was a long process, but after about 6 months of sticking to a natural beauty routine, no makeup, and no picking at my skin it started look so much better. I noticed the acne scars were fading and my skin tone was much more even. I started to regain confidence, and finally felt like myself again.

After this experience it gave me so much compassion for other women dealing with skin issues. I have learned so much through my experience. Below is a picture of me without any makeup or photo editing. It was taken in natural outdoor lighting with no filter. I will find a before picture and add it to the blog(its on  my moms computer)

FullSizeRender
8-4-16

 

 

My Beauty Routine

Morning

  • Drink 8oz of water
  • Apply a layer of “Thayer Rose petal witch hazel”
  • 2 dots of Teddies Organic rose hip oil 
  • BB cream with 30SPF ( I like the brand Tarte and 100% pure)

All Day

  • Drink water, LOTS
  • Rosewater Mist

Evening

  • Drink 80z of water
  • Wash face with a Norwex antibacterial cloth
  • (3x a week) Farmhouse fresh face mask
  • (1x a week) Sugar and olive oil scrub
  • Teddies Organic rose hip oil with 2 drops of young living/DoTerra lavender oil

 

You can find all of these products on amazon.com

I have very sensitive skin, and I have noticed that none of these products irritate my skin. All of these products added together are under $100, and will last between 2-5 months depending on how liberally you use them.

Product Reviews 

YL and DoTerra Lavender oil: First of all I don’t sell these oils, I just highly recommend them to anyone who is dealing with acne, or acne scarring. Amazing product, highly concentrated. A little goes a LONG way. The smell is very strong, so if you don’t like the smell of lavender you may want to try Frankincense by YL or DoTerra instead.

Thayer Rose Petal Witch Hazel: I am obsessed with this stuff. It smells SO good and totally balances my skin. It cleanses my skin without drying it out, and leaves me feeling fresh and balanced.

Teddies Organic Rose Hip Oil: This stuff is amazing. Before I was pregnant with Lincoln I used retinA daily… It is a HOLY GRAIL, except pregnant, and breastfeeding mamas can’t use it. I researched similar products and came across “rose hip oil”. I tried a few different brands but my favorite one is Teddies Rose Hip oil. It literally smooths, and adds moisture to your skin instantly without making you feel oily! It has diminished any signs of premature aging, ( I had small fine lines around my eyes and fine smile lines) now they are GONE, within a week, and it has given me a 24-7 glow! Anyone who is looking for a natural anti aging moisturizer should pick this brand up. Teddies is also a small family business, and it makes me happy to support them.

Rosewater mist: Instant pick me up! If you are like me, and tend to get dry during the day or need to freshen up your skin, then this is for you! Plus it smells incredible.

Tarte BB Cream Primer: This stuff is amazing. It is similar to a tinted moisturizer but It has a bunch of healthy ingredients for you skin and 30SPF. It blurs imperfections, and gives you a little bit of color (which is nice when you are fair skinned).

Farmhouse Fresh Face Mask: My sister-in-law turned me on to this stuff and it is my favorite. It has 99% percent natural ingredients. I use the “Pajama Paste” and I’ve noticed that it calms my skin, takes away redness, and if I have a pimple, it helps to dry it up and heal it within one application. GREAT STUFF!

Norwex antibacterial Face Cloth: This face cloth is amazing. It takes off every bit of makeup without any soap. I find that soap is drying on my skin, so I don’t use any type of face wash, but instead I use this cloth. It helps to mildly exfoliate my skin, while getting rid of any dirt or bacteria. I have had great results with this!

Sugar and Olive oil scrub: This one is my own creation. I do it once a week to get a deeper exfoliation. It leaves my skin soft and clean. I mix a large drizzle of olive oil with a sprinkle of cane sugar then GENTLY massage my face and neck with this mixture. I rinse with cold water and pat dry. I always get compliments on my “glowing skin” after I do this treatment. Plus its cheap and I’m sure you have it in your pantry!

Tips

  1. Never pop a pimple with your finger nails. If you have to pop it, take two Q-tips after you’ve taken a hot shower and gentle squeeze.
  2. Change your pillow case every 5-7 days
  3. Don’t touch your face
  4. Wear a SPF everyday
  5. Don’t forget about your neck,chest and hands
  6. Drink water, LOTS!
  7. Sleep 7-10 hours
  8. Let your skin breath
  9. Be careful of the words you speak over your skin. Only speak positive uplifting words!
  10. Stay away from processed foods

******

During this process of all the skin issues I went through I had so much emotional trauma. I believe that part of the reason my skin healed so beautifully is through my faith in Jesus. I held onto the promises he spoke in the bible, and spoke to my skin daily. I tried my best to make it a point to not let my skin define who I was as a person. It was a humbling experience but through it I learned a lot. Our skin is the largest organ in our body, and it is a testimony of the healing power that our bodies have been designed to do. I believe that through natural products, and my faith, my skin has been restored and more beautiful than it ever has been!

XXOO,

Signe

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

