Step inside our Marriage

” Happiness in marriage is entirely a matter of choice” 

It’s 10:00pm on a Wednesday night. The baby is sleeping peacefully in our bedroom while Zach and I sit on the couch discussing marriage. We recently had our one year anniversary, and reflected on this past year. We discussed what we imagined marriage would be like, and how it actually is. I want to share with you some of the things we have talked about and offer some advice. I hope you enjoy!

Define Romance in a marriage.

Zach-making sure we have quality time together.

Signe–  Going out of your way to do things that you know your spouse will appreciate.

What did you expect vs the reality of marriage? 

Zach-You go into marriage thinking that you don’t have expectations but then you find out you have underlying expectations that you didn’t realize. The biggest thing I’ve learned is letting go of the expectations and focusing on the well-being of your spouse.

Signe– I expected it to be more difficult than it is. I think if you have good communication and honesty in your marriage then it makes life a lot easier. You have to learn to be selfless as well.

Sex?

Zach-(You’re really going to post that?) uhhh

Signe– Gotta make it exciting We’re in it for the long haul!

The peak and the pit? (Lincoln excluded)

Zach-Our honeymoon…It was the peak and the pit for me. I liked exploring france and learning another culture. We didn’t know that you were pregnant, and your emotions were all over the place, that was difficult for me.

Signe- pass ( I can’t think) …and I wasn’t THAT moody, just very sensitive.

Best advice for someone who is getting married?

Zach- Don’t have a year-long engagement, if you plan to wait until marriage to have sex. It should never take that long to plan a wedding. You should also make sure that the person you’re marrying is your best friend.

Signe– Make sure you are friends before lovers. The first stages of love can cloud your judgment. Make sure that your friendship comes first, and love will naturally follow.

Funniest moment yet…

Zach– When we were swimming in france, and I made a warm spot in the water just for you.

Signe– Replacing the half & half with breast milk, and watching you drink that morning cup of joe. hahaha!!!

Best Advice?

Zach- You get out of it what you put into it.

Signe– Forgive easily, Choose your words wisely, and Keep God the center.

 

Well, Its getting late so that is all for now!

 

Love,

Signe and Zach

xxoo

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Jody Flynn says:

    Sitting here in the Nail Salon waiting for my daughter and giggling and grinning like a little school girl at this! You both are beautiful inside and out and I can’t wait to read some more!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww Thank-you so much! I love hearing positive feedback. It means so much to me that you took the time to let me know that you enjoy reading! You’ve made my day, and I am glad this story brought you a laugh! xo

      Like

Leave a Reply

